News & Features

Fontbonne Highlights Teaching Excellence

ST. LOUIS - Fontbonne University honored Kerry Borawski, a full-time business administration instructor, and Margaret Fetter, a part-time fine arts lecturer, with the university's 2009 Excellence in Teaching Awards. Borawski received the Joan Goostree Stevens Excellence in Teaching Award, and Fetter received the Excellence in Teaching Award for Part-Time Faculty.

"I'm thrilled with the honor," Borawski said. "A student-designated award of this nature is really quite amazing; I'm humbled by it, but I'm sincerely grateful and enjoying the moment."

The Fontbonne board of trustees established an award in 1988 to recognize the outstanding teachers who create Fontbonne's learning environment. In 1994, the family of Joan Goostree Stevens '47 endowed the award, and it was renamed in her honor.

Each year, a committee of representatives from the student body, faculty and administration select the nominee who is most deserving of Fontbonne University's highest recognition for teaching.

Learn more about ways Fontbonne supports excellence in teaching.