Where am I?

Academic Department Information

The following is a list of the academic departments. Some departments offer concentrations and certifications to support a major; concentrations and certifications are listed in the Fontbonne University Catalog.

 

BONNIE AND L. B. ECKELKAMP COLLEGE OF GLOBAL BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL STUDIES

Dr. Jay Johnson, dean

Office:  Anheuser-Busch Hall, Room 227

Telephone/voice mail:  314-889-4588

e-mail:  jjohnson@fontbonne.edu

 

William Foster, assistant to the dean

Office:  Anheuser-Busch Hall, Room 216      Telephone/voice mail:  314-889-1418

e-mail:  wfoster@fontbonne.edu                  

 

Office Manager: Julie Factor

Office:  Anheuser-Busch Hall, Room 226      Telephone/voice mail: 314-889-4518

e-mail:  jfactor@fontbonne.edu

 

MAJORS                                                       

Accounting    

Advertising                                            

Business Administration

Fashion Merchandising

Management and Leadership

Marketing                                                       

Sports Management

 

MINORS

Advertising

Business Administration

Marketing

Social Entrepreneurship

Sports Management

 

 

DEPARTMENT OF BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES

Dr. Laurel Newman, chairperson and assistant professor

Office:  East Building, Room 310B                    Telephone/voice mail:  314-889-1440

e-mail:  lnewman@fontbonne.edu

 

Administrative Assistant:  Jane Bidleman

Office:  East Building, Room 323                     Telephone/voice mail:  314-719-3616

e-mail:  jbidleman@fontbonne.edu

 

MAJORS                                                        

Applied Behavioral Sciences                                    

Psychology                                                

Occupational Therapy1

1in conjunction with other area institution; ask your advisor for details

 

MINORS

Psychology

Sociology

 

 

DEPARTMENT OF BIOLOGICAL AND PHYSICAL SCIENCES

Dr. Elizabeth Rayhel, chairperson and associate professor

Office:  Anheuser-Busch Hall, Room 313      Telephone/voice mail:  314-889-1445

e-mail:  erayhel@fontbonne.edu

 

Administrative Assistant:  Barbara Bryant

Office:  Anheuser-Busch Hall, Room 326      Telephone/voice mail:  314-889-4574

e-mail:  bbryant@fontbonne.edu

 

MAJORS                                                                 

Biology

Biology – Pre-Med, Pre-Vet, Pre-Dental & Pre-Pharmacy                                                              

Biology – Secondary Education Concentration

Biomedical Engineering1

Chiropractic1                    

Medical Laboratory Sciences

Nursing1

Occupational Therapy1 

 1in conjunction with other area institution; ask your advisor for details

 

MINORS

Biology

Chemistry

Environmental Studies

 

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION DISORDERS AND DEAF EDUCATION

Dr. Carmen Russell, chairperson and associate professor

Office:  East Building, Room 207                  Telephone/voice mail:  314-719-3577

e-mail:  crussell@fontbonne.edu

 

Office Manager: Barbara Boyle        

Office:  East Building, Room 218                   Telephone/voice mail:  314-719-3636

e-mail:  bboyle@fontbonne.edu

 

MAJORS                                                      

Deaf Education

Speech-Language Pathology

 

MINORS

Speech-Language Pathology

 

 

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION/SPECIAL EDUCATION

Dr. Jamie VanDycke, chairperson and assistant professor

Office:  East Building, Room 223                  Telephone/voice mail:  314-719-3634

e-mail:  jvandycke@fontbonne.edu

 

Administrative Assistant: Barbara Gianino

Office:  East Building, Room 235                   Telephone/voice mail:  314-889-1430

e-mail:  bgianino@fontbonne.edu

 

MAJORS                                                      

Early Childhood Education

Elementary Education

Middle School Education

Special Education

 

MINORS

Early Childhood

 

 

DEPARTMENT OF ENGLISH AND COMMUNICATION

Dr. Jason Sommer, chairperson and professor

Office:  East Building, Room 303                   Telephone/voice mail:  314-889-1477

e-mail:  jsommer@fontbonne.edu

 

Administrative Assistant: Melissa Eichhorn                        

Office:  East Building, Room 312                  Telephone/voice mail:  314-889-4551

e-mail:  meichhorn@fontbonne.edu

 

MAJORS 

Communication Studies

English – Secondary Education                                                               

Literary Studies                                  

Professional Writing                                                              

 

MINORS  

Communication

Literary Studies

Professional Writing    

 

Foreign Language Studies are available in conjunction with another area institution.  Ask your advisor for details.

 

 

DEPARTMENT OF FAMILY AND CONSUMER SCIENCES

Mary Beth Ohlms, chairperson

Office:  Anheuser-Busch Hall, Room 118     Telephone/voice mail:  314-719-8083

e-mail:  mbohlms@fontbonne.edu

 

Administrative Assistant: Vicki Logston

Office:  Anheuser-Busch Hall, Room 126      Telephone/voice mail:  314-889-1415  

e-mail:  vlogston@fontbonne.edu

 

MAJORS                                                          

Dietetics                                                                                       

Family and Consumer Sciences

Family Policy and Advocacy

Health Education and Promotion

 

MINORS

Food Management

 

 

DEPARTMENT OF FINE ARTS

Mark Douglas, chairperson and associate professor

Office:  Fine Arts Building, Room 232          Telephone/voice mail:  314-719-8055

e-mail:  mdouglas@fontbonne.edu

 

Administrative Assistant: Karen Byington

Office:  Fine Arts Building, Room 243          Telephone/voice mail:  314-889-1431

e-mail:  kbyington@fontbonne.edu

 

MAJORS                                                        

Applied Design

Art                                                               

Fine Arts                                                   

Performing Arts   

 

MINORS                              

Art History

Graphic Design

Performing Arts

 

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORY, PHILOSOPHY AND RELIGION

Dr. Jack Luzkow, chairperson and associate professor

Office:  East Building, Room 307                  Telephone/voice mail:  314-719-3623

e-mail:  jluzkow@fontbonne.edu

 

Administrative Assistant: Sue Ebenreck

Office: East Building, Room 308                  Telephone/voice mail: 889-4549

e-mail:  sebenreck@fontbonne.edu

 

MAJORS                                                        

Global Studies                                           

History                                                        

Religious Studies1                                                                     

Social Science/Pre-Law

1in conjunction with other area institution; ask your advisor for details

 

MINORS

African American Studies

Global Studies

History

Religion

 

 

DEPARTMENT OF MATHEMATICS AND COMPUTER SCIENCES

Dr. Mary Abkemeier, chairperson and professor

Office: Ryan Hall, Room 406                        Telephone/voice mail:  314-889-1497

e-mail:  mary.abkemeier@fontbonne.edu

 

Administrative Assistant:  Cheryl Burrus

Office:  Ryan Hall, Room 408                       Telephone/voice mail:  314-889-4508

e-mail:  cburrus@fontbonne.edu

 

MAJORS 

Applied Mathematics

Bioinformatics

Computer Science

Cyber Security

Engineering Dual Degree Program1

Management Information Systems

Mathematics for Secondary Education

1in conjunction with other area institution; ask your advisor for details

 

MINORS

Applied Mathematics

Computer Science

Cyber Security

Management Information Systems

Mathematics for Educators

 

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL WORK

Sharon Jackson, chairperson and assistant professor

Office:  Ryan Hall, Room 402B               Telephone/voice mail:  314-719-3642

e-mail:  smjackson@fontbonne.edu

 

Dr. Catharine Mennes, assistant professor and field education director

Office:  Ryan Hall, Room 402A               Telephone/voice mail:  314-719-3602

e-mail:  cmennes@fontbonne.edu

 

Administrative Assistant: Mary Sullivan

Office:  Ryan Hall, Room 402                  Telephone/voice mail:  314-719-8004

e-mail:  mksullivan@fontbonne.edu

 

MAJORS

Social Work

Social Work Dual Degree1

1in conjunction with other area institution; ask your advisor for details

 

MINORS

Social Work